Success Stories

Hazelnut sector in Bas-Saint-Laurent

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

When applied research becomes a tool for regional development

In addition to research and innovation, regional development is at the heart of Biopterre’s mission, especially when it comes to projects aimed at the development of new and emerging crops oriented around a collective sector reflection. Indeed, it is important for the Biopterre team to invest in development-bearing projects that will have a meaningful impact for the companies supported. Research must therefore be carried out in a broader context and be connected to the various elements: supply, processing, marketing, mode of consumption, etc. The development of the hazelnut sector is a wonderful example of this!

In 2014, Biopterre carried out a diagnosis and an opportunity study of the non-timber forest products (NTFP) sector of Bas-Saint-Laurent to assess the state of this sector and identify the impediments to its development. This was followed by the creation of a committee comprising representatives of the region’s eight RCMs. The objective of this committee is to diversify and boost the economic activities of Bas-Saint-Laurent by focusing on the development of NTFP with high commercial potential. A clear choice was then made as to the culture to be preferred: hazelnut.

The hazelnut market

The global hazelnut market is booming and growing by 5% every year. The Canadian hazelnut market is mainly based on imports (90%). It is known that in 2015, in Quebec alone, 132.7 million dollars were spent on imported hazelnuts, mainly from Turkey and the United States. These data suggest long-term market potential and stability, especially with climate change disrupting areas of usual hardiness.

Impact of the establishment of a new sector in Bas-Saint-Laurent

Although there is growing interest for nut cultures in Quebec, there are no large-scale orchards. Many scientific and technical challenges remain. Although certain hazel cultivars are native to Bas-St-Laurent, such as the beaked hazel (Corylus cornuta) and the American hazel (Corylus americana), they are fragile to various pests known to affect their productivity. For a sector to be established, the implantation of more productive and disease-resistant cultivars is necessary.

Twenty-two producers took part in this research project aimed at testing the hardiness of hybrid hazel cultivars developed in Quebec and at optimizing cultivation practices for Bas-St-Laurent’s regional conditions. It should be noted that this research project, which is conducted by Biopterre, is supported by Les Saveurs du Bas-Saint-Laurent, an organization whose expertise is to facilitate the marketing of agri-food products of Bas-Saint-Laurent. The involvement of Saveurs du Bas-Saint-Laurent ensures the link between applied research and, ultimately, marketing needs.Also, in addition to the 22 producers directly involved in the project, a network of over 150 people are interested in the future of the project and could eventually be interested in being part of the adventure.

Long-term outlook

The downside of launching an applied research initiative on hazelnut is that it will have to be carried out on the long term. Hazels are only productive 8-10 years after their plantation, so the results will have to wait. And until then, the work continues. The second phase of the research project will focus on the adaptation of pruning methods and cultural management strategies, after which, we will address harvesting and packaging of hazelnuts and co-products (shells, twigs, residues, etc.). The objective remains the diversification and revitalization of economic activities in the Bas-Saint-Laurent by setting up a new sector focused on the production and development of an NTFP with high commercial potential. Applied research is used as a tool for regional development!

"It is important for Biopterre to invest in development-bearing projects that will have a meaningful impact for the companies supported."
Maxime Tardif
Biopterre
Partners

Partager cet article :

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Other Success Stories

Although this habitat is rather unusual for the organisms of the fungi kingdom, the St. Lawrence River waters have the potential to host previously unsuspected...
You know you’re an innovator when you decide to go into business with a brand new process for which there is no real precedent. That...

Quand la recherche appliquée devient un outil de développement régional

En plus de la recherche et de l’innovation, le développement régional est au cœur de la mission de Biopterre, notamment pour les projets visant le développement de cultures émergentes où la réflexion en « filière » prend tout son sens. Effectivement, il importe à l’équipe de Biopterre de s’investir dans des projets qui seront porteurs de développement et qui auront un réel impact pour les entreprises accompagnées. Il faut donc que la recherche s’inscrive dans un contexte plus large et soit connectée sur les différents éléments liés : approvisionnement, transformation, mise en marché, mode de consommation, etc. Le développement de la filière des noisettes en est en bel exemple!

En 2014, Biopterre a réalisé un diagnostic et une étude d’opportunités de la filière « produits forestiers non ligneux (PFNL) du Bas-Saint-Laurent » afin de mieux jauger de l’état de cette filière et des défis à relever pour la dynamiser. S’en est suivie la création d’un comité regroupant des représentants des 8 MRC de la région. L’objectif de ce comité est alors de diversifier et de dynamiser les activités économiques du Bas-Saint-Laurent en misant sur le développement de PFNL à fort potentiel commercial. Un choix clair s’est alors imposé quant à la culture à privilégier : celui de la noisette.

Le marché de la noisette

Le marché mondial de la noisette (ou de l’aveline) est en plein essor et croit de 5 % chaque année. Le marché canadien de la noisette repose essentiellement sur l’importation (90 %). On sait qu’en 2015, seulement au Québec, 132,7 M$ ont été investis pour des noisettes importées principalement de Turquie et des États-Unis. Ces données laissent croire à un potentiel et une stabilité de marché à long terme. D’autant plus que les changements climatiques perturbent les zones de rusticités habituelles.

Impact de la mise en place d’une nouvelle filière au Bas-Saint-Laurent

Bien que l’on dénote un engouement accru pour la culture des noix au Québec, aucune n’est cultivée à grande échelle. Effectivement, de nombreux défis scientifiques et techniques demeurent! Bien que certains cultivars de noisettes soient indigènes au Bas-Saint-Laurent, le noisetier à long bec (Corylus cornuta) et le noisetier d’Amérique (Corylus americana) notamment, ce sont des espèces sensibles à des ennemis qui affectent énormément leur productivité. La mise en place d’une filière nécessite l’implantation de cultivars plus productifs et résistants aux maladies.

Ce sont donc 22 producteurs qui ont embarqué dans l’aventure de ce projet de recherche visant à vérifier la rusticité de cultivars de noisetiers hybrides développés au Québec et à optimiser les pratiques d’implantations adaptées aux conditions de la région. À noter que ce projet de recherche, réalisé par Biopterre, est porté par l’organisme Les Saveurs du Bas-Saint-Laurent, dont l’expertise est de faciliter la commercialisation des produits agroalimentaires du Bas-Saint-Laurent. L’implication des Saveurs du Bas-Saint-Laurent est garante d’une bonne adéquation entre la recherche appliquée et, à terme, les besoins de mise en marché. De plus, il est important de noter qu’outre les 22 producteurs impliqués dans le projet, c’est un réseau de plus de 150 personnes qui sont intéressées par la suite du projet et qui pourraient être intéressées à faire partie de l’aventure dans les prochaines années.

Perspective à long terme

Se lancer en recherche appliquée sur le noisetier, c’est par contre accepter de travailler à long terme. Les noisetiers n’étant productifs que 8 à 10 ans après leur implantation, les résultats se feront bien sûr attendre. Et d’ici là le travail se poursuit. La seconde phase de recherche portera sur l’adaptation des méthodes de taille et de régies de culture tandis que la phase suivante portera sur la récolte et le conditionnement des noisettes et des coproduits (coques, rameaux, résidus, etc.). La volonté demeurant toujours celle de diversifier et de dynamiser les activités économiques dans la région du Bas-Saint-Laurent par la mise en place d’une filière de production et de mise en valeur d’un PFNL à fort potentiel commercial, le tout en utilisant la recherche appliquée comme outil de développement régional!

« Il importe à l’équipe de Biopterre de s’investir dans des projets qui seront porteurs de développement et qui auront un réel impact pour les entreprises accompagnées »
Maxime Tardif
Biopterre
Partenaires