Success Stories

Substrate development for a passive hydroponics system

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Les solutions horticoles HerbiaEra is a young Quebec company wishing to market an innovative residential cultivation system requiring minimum effort from the user. The aim of the project was to develop a substrate that could be used in this system. The substrate had to comply precise characteristics and respond to many factors. It was expected to evolve in a passive hydroponics system, be prefertilized, maintain the desired shape, not crumble (remain in block) and be free of harmful agents. It also had to support (physically and chemically) growing plants for a period of four to six months.

As part of a first phase, Biopterre participated in the composition of recipes (inputs, proportions), the development of binder treatments application methods, and crop tests. A second phase is underway to optimize the physical and chemical characteristics of the substrates. This second phase will also allow the company to increase and diversify the offer of its cultivation catalogue. Indeed, Biopterre developed technical sheets allowing the company to develop a virtual management tool for crop monitoring with the cultivars best suited to this cultivation system.

This led to the development of ten substrate recipes, which were tested in the standard way to validate composition balance. Of these ten recipes, five were selected for their high potential. The five substrates that stood out were moulded and tested in the culture system. The moulded substrates were subjected to physical analyses for strength, weight stability, dehumidification and re-humidification prior to being tested in the hydroponics system. As a final development phase, Biopterre conducted three crop cycles to complete the observations. The results were better than expected and made it possible to respond to the company’s goal, which was to have a working prototype within the first year of research. The first customers will be supplied with the new substrate as early as spring 2021.

We wanted to develop a robust system that would allow individuals to produce fresh, healthy food at home while minimizing food waste. Since we wanted to avoid the use of pumps or any other mechanism with potential for breakage, our challenge was to develop a prefertilized substrate with specific physicochemical properties compatible with capillary culture. It was also important for the substrate to be stable during re-humidification, resistant to manipulation, and without disintegration.

Biopterre’s team developed a first version of marketable substrate, allowing us to raise the largest overall amount in the history of the La Ruche crowdfunding platform with our first connected planter model (The HerbiaEra™ CS1)!

Along with the optimization of the mobile application, we plan on continuing our work with Biopterre in the coming years to improve our substrates. We will keep on promoting HomeFarming, and perhaps, one day, make our entrance with our smart substrate in the greenhouses of the future!

Along with the optimization of the mobile application, we plan on continuing our work with Biopterre in the coming years to improve our substrates. We will keep on promoting HomeFarming, and perhaps, one day, make our entrance with our smart substrate in the greenhouses of the future!
»

-Alexandre Boucher-Doddridge, CPI., CEO
Anthony Bisson Jr. Eng., Chief Technology Officer

Partners

Partager cet article :

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Other Success Stories

Although this habitat is rather unusual for the organisms of the fungi kingdom, the St. Lawrence River waters have the potential to host previously unsuspected...
You know you’re an innovator when you decide to go into business with a brand new process for which there is no real precedent. That...

Les solutions horticoles HerbiaEra, est une jeune entreprise québécoise souhaitant commercialiser un système de culture novateur, demandant un effort minimum de la part du consommateur. Cet appareil est dédié à un usage résidentiel. Le but du projet était de développer un substrat utilisable dans ce système. Ce substrat, aux caractéristiques précises, devait répondre à de nombreux facteurs. Les substrats développés devront évoluer dans un mode de culture hydroponique passive, ils devront être préfertilisés, conserver la forme déterminée, ne pas s’effriter (demeurer en bloc) et ne pas contenir d’agents nocifs. Il devra également assurer un support (physique et chimique) aux plantes en croissance pour une durée de quatre à six mois.

Dans le cadre d’une première phase, Biopterre est intervenu au niveau de la composition des recettes (intrants, proportions), aux développements des méthodologies d’applications des traitements liants, et des essais de cultures. Une seconde phase est en cours afin d’optimiser les caractéristiques physiques et chimiques des substrats. Cette seconde phase permettra également à l’entreprise d’augmenter et diversifier l’offre de son catalogue de culture. En effet, Biopterre travaillera à l’élaboration de fiches techniques permettant à l’entreprise de développer un outil de gestion virtuel du suivi des cultures avec les cultivars les mieux adaptés à ce système de culture.

Les étapes réalisées ont permis la création de dix recettes de substrats testés sous la forme habituelle afin de valider l’équilibre descompositions. De ces dix recettes, cinq ont été sélectionnés pour leur fort potentiel. Les cinq substrats s’étant démarqués ont été moulés, et mis en place dans le système de culture. Les substrats moulés ont préalablement été soumis à des analyses physiques de résistance, de stabilité du poids, de déshumidification et de réhumidification. Pour terminer, Biopterre a effectué trois cycles de cultures pour compléter les observations. Les résultats se sont avérés plus que satisfaisants et ont permis de répondre à l’entreprise qui souhaitait détenir un prototype fonctionnel après un an de recherche. Les premiers clients seront approvisionnés dès le printemps 2021.

 

 

« Nous souhaitions élaborer un système robuste qui allait permettre aux particuliers de produire chez soi des aliments frais, bons pour la santé et réduisant au maximum le gaspillage alimentaire. Puisque nous voulions éviter l’utilisation de pompe ou de tout autre mécanisme ayant un potentiel de bris, notre défi était donc de développer un substrat préfertilisé aux propriétés physicochimiques bien précises permettant la culture par capillarité. Il était aussi important pour nous que le substrat soit stable lors de la réhumidification, résistant aux manipulations, sans désagrégation. 

L’équipe de Biopterre a donc développé une première version de substrat commercialisable, nous permettant de lever le plus gros montant global de l’histoire de la plateforme de sociofinancement La Ruche avec notre premier modèle de jardinière connectée (Le HerbiaEra™ CS1)!

Parallèlement à l’optimisation de notre application mobile, nous prévoyons continuer à travailler avec Biopterre dans les prochaines années afin d’améliorer nos substrats pour ainsi, continuer à faire la promotion du HomeFarming, et peut-être, un jour, faire notre entrée avec notre substrat intelligent dans les serres 4.0 du futur! »

-Alexandre Boucher-Doddridge, CPI., PDG
Anthony Bisson, Ing. Jr., Directeur de la technologie

Partenaires