Success Stories

ADSOL Advanced Solutions

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

ADSOL is a Quebec-based company that specializes in lighting products for horticulture and surface disinfection using LED technology. They design, manufacture, market and install LED lights that are customized for various types of plants and projects.

The advent of LED technology in horticulture has sparked considerable growth in the field of controlled environment agriculture (greenhouses or growth chambers). Although the LED lights that were available a little over a decade ago were basic and costly, the rapid progression of this technology has made them more affordable and opened the door to a multitude of applications. They are now used as an alternative to more energy-intensive types of lighting (ex.: HPS, metal halide, etc.) in horticultural operations, significantly improving producers’ energy efficiency.

ADSOL has designed various types of horticultural lights using LED technology. Some of these were specifically designed for horticulture; other, more advanced lights also provide phytosanitary control for plant production. Biopterre teamed up with ADSOL to assess the antifungal capacity of selected ADSOL lights to control four common fungal diseases in horticultural operations.

Trials carried out in Biopterre’s labs revealed that the light prototypes have varying effects depending on the type of pathogen targeted. For example, under certain conditions, one type of light eradicated Botrytis cinerea, a common fungal disease in indoor cultivation systems. Other prototypes slowed or halted the development of fungal diseases without eradicating them altogether. The effect of the lights on the development of certain plant pathogens could decrease the need for pesticides during production. Additionally, the use of these lights for horticultural and phytosanitary applications represents a novel approach to crop management in greenhouses and growth chambers. Horticultural producers and the controlled environment agrifood industry can benefit immensely from higher crop quality and yield, better energy efficiency and lower pesticide use. These breakthroughs pave the way for future innovations in this field.

ADSOL does not sell LED lights, rather, they develop a technology based on them. Their lighting systems produce synergetic combinations of various wavelengths of light. For instance, they also develop systems allowing the reproduction of black soldier flies. Like phytosanitary lights, these flies are used in the field of biological control. The company will continue to develop custom cutting edge systems like the above-mentioned solutions to meet the precise needs of clients across multiple sectors.

Partners

Partager cet article :

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Other Success Stories

Although this habitat is rather unusual for the organisms of the fungi kingdom, the St. Lawrence River waters have the potential to host previously unsuspected...
You know you’re an innovator when you decide to go into business with a brand new process for which there is no real precedent. That...

ADSOL est une compagnie québécoise qui se spécialise dans les produits d’éclairage pour l’horticulture et la désinfection sur surface utilisant la technologie DEL. Elle se consacre à la conception, l’assemblage, la commercialisation et l’installation de luminaires DEL adaptés aux besoins de différents types de plantes et projets.

Depuis l’avènement de la technologie DEL en horticulture, la culture en milieu fermé (serre ou chambre de culture) a connu un essor. Bien que les lampes DEL offertes il y a un peu plus d’une décennie étaient peu élaborées et coûteuses, l’évolution rapide de cette technologie a permis de rendre le coût d’achat de ces lampes abordable et a ouvert la porte à multitudes d’applications. Par conséquent, cela a permis d’introduire ces lampes dans des systèmes de cultures horticoles afin de remplacer les autres types d’éclairage énergivore (ex. : HPS, métal halide, etc.) et ainsi offrir une économie d’énergie intéressante pour les producteurs.

ADSOL a conçu différents types de lampes horticoles à technologie DEL. Certaines d’entre elles ont été conçues pour répondre aux besoins lumineux de la culture horticole, d’autres sont encore plus élaborées, offrant en plus un contrôle phytosanitaire de la production végétale. En collaboration avec ADSOL, Biopterre a évalué l’efficacité antifongique de certaines lampes développées par le fabricant pour le contrôle de quatre maladies fongiques communes dans les productions horticoles.

À la suite des essais réalisés dans les laboratoires de Biopterre, il s’avère que les prototypes de lampe ont des effets différents selon le type de pathogène ciblé. Par exemple, un type de lampe a réussi, sous certaines conditions, à éradiquer Botrytis cinerea, une maladie fongique d’importance en culture intérieure. D’autres prototypes ont démontré des effets de ralentissement ou d’arrêt du développement des maladies fongiques, sans toutefois les éradiquer. Ces effets générés grâce aux lampes sur le développement de certaines phytopathologies permettent de réduire l’utilisation de pesticides dans la production. De plus, la combinaison de l’aspect horticole et phytosanitaire des lampes est une approche novatrice pour la gestion des cultures en serre et en chambre de culture. Des gains sur la qualité et le rendement des cultures, la réduction des applications de pesticides et les économies d’énergie sont des avantages considérables pour les producteurs horticoles et pour l’industrie agroalimentaire en milieu fermé. Ce sont des avancées qui laissent envisager encore plus d’innovation dans ce domaine.

ADSOL n’est pas un distributeur de lampes DEL, elle développe plutôt une technologie basée sur celles-ci. Leurs systèmes lumineux produisent des synergies en combinant différentes longueurs d’onde de la lumière. Elle développe également des systèmes qui permettent la reproduction des mouches soldats noires par exemple. Tout comme les lampes phytosanitaires, ceux-ci sont utilisés dans le domaine du contrôle biologique. Ce sont là des exemples de conception innovante. La compagnie continue d’élaborer des systèmes adaptés novateurs afin de répondre aux besoins spécifiques des clients, et ce, dans multiples domaines.

Partenaires