Projects

Development of a Biostimulant Using Hemicellulose Liquor

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Year

2018-2019

Funding

Engage Grants for Colleges (NSERC)

Development partners

Cascades Emballage Carton-Caisse - Cabano

Project Manager/Contact at Biopterre

Karine Bouchard

Description

The Cascades-Cabano plant manufactures semi-chemical corrugated paper in Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac. Its initial process generated effluents whose management was costly and limiting in terms of the environment and the production capacity. The plant recently implemented a new innovative process, replacing the effluent by a hemicellulose-rich co-product. Based on current knowledge of the composition of hemicellulose liquor, the effluent could be used in agricultural production as an input, such as a biostimulant or a biofungicide. This project represents a breakthrough in value-added applications for hemicellulose, as there are currently no biostimulants made from this widespread biopolymer of the carbohydrate family. 

The main objective of this project was to develop a proposition for the recovery of hemicellulose based on scientific data to serve as a basis for the development of long-term research program with the industrial partner. A four-part exploratory research on hemicellulose was carried out: (1) characterization of hemicellulose; (2) review of literature; (3) greenhouse crop trials; and (4) laboratory tests. 

This project led to the definition of innovative applications for hemicellulose liquor. As for industrial synergies in Quebec, the project also contributed to the creation of unique new partnerships between the forest and agricultural industries. Environmental benefits are expected from the replacement of commonly used agricultural inputs.

Partners

Share this project :

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Other Projects

2018-2019

The production of seaside plants is an avenue that Reford Gardens wishes to develop for their high gastronomic and environmental potential. The first phase of...

2014-2020

Shoreline erosion has been a concern for the city of Montmagny for a long time. The erosion process appears to be accelerating over time, and...

2019-2020

The Saint-Valerien-de-Rimouski forest garden was established in June 2019 by Biopterre and Groupe SYGIF, on a 325 m2 vacant plot located behind the community centre, in the...

Projets

Développement d’un biostimulant à base d’hémicelluloses

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Année

2018-2019

Financement

Subvention d’engagement partenarial pour les collèges

Partenaires de développement

Cascades Emballage Carton-Caisse - Cabano

Responsable du projet / Contact chez Biopterre

Karine Bouchard

Description

L’usine Cascades-Cabano, située à Témiscouata-sur-le-Lac fabrique du papier ondulé semi-chimique. Son procédé initial générait des effluents dont la gestion était couteuse et limitante au point de vue de l’environnement et de l’augmentation de sa capacité de production. Récemment, l’usine a implanté un nouveau procédé innovant, remplaçant les effluents générés par un coproduit riche en hémicelluloses. Sur la base de la connaissance actuelle sur la composition de la liqueur d’hémicelluloses, elle pourrait être utilisable en production agricole en tant qu’intrant, tel un biostimulant ou un biofongicide. Ce projet représente donc une percée dans les applications à valeur ajoutée pour les hémicelluloses, car il n’existe actuellement aucun biostimulant fabriqué à base de ce biopolymère de la famille des glucides, largement répandu.

L’objectif principal de ce projet était de dégager une proposition de valeur des hémicelluloses, appuyée sur des données scientifiques dans l’optique de servir de base à l’élaboration d’une programmation de recherche à plus long terme avec le partenaire industriel. L’expérimentation exploratoire avec les hémicelluloses a été réalisée en quatre volets : (1) caractérisation des hémicelluloses, (2) revue de littérature, (3) essais culturaux en serre et (4) essais en laboratoire.

Ce projet a d’abord mené à la définition d’applications novatrices pour le flux d’hémicelluloses. D’un point de vue des synergies industrielles au Québec, le projet a également contribué à la création de nouveaux partenariats uniques entre l’industrie forestière et l’industrie agricole. Des bénéfices environnementaux sont attendus par le remplacement d’intrants agricoles couramment utilisés.

Partenaires

Partager ce projet :

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Autres projets

2017

Le milieu urbain est soumis à des problématiques appelées à prendre de l’ampleur avec le réchauffement climatique. On arrive à une limite de la capacité...

2015-2018

Le concept de culture maraîchère en milieu fermé est un mode de culture émergent qui suscite un grand intérêt actuellement. Ce mode de culture innovant...

2018-2019

Compte tenu de son potentiel gastronomique et environnemental, la production de plantes de bord de mer est une avenue que souhaite développer l’entreprise les Jardins...