Projects

Development of Cultural Management Strategies for Green Garlic in a Controlled Environment using LED Lighting and a Hydroponic Vertical Crop System

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Year

2018-2019

Funding

$25,000 NSERC + $3,000 from August's Harvest

Development partners

August’s Harvest

Project Manager/Contact at Biopterre
Description

Agricultural companies are increasingly using controlled-environment cultivation systems to expand the product range available to consumers, who wish to have access to a wider variety and availability of locally grown fresh produce throughout the year. This project focused on the production of green garlic, i.e., garlic that is harvested before full maturity, in controlled environments. It aimed to optimize the cultivation process and to promote the development of abundant, aromatic and non-fibrous foliage. The work focused on fertilization, light intensity, plant density and pruning of planted cloves. 

Balanced microelement fertilization resulted in good root development, and when compared to the control treatment the plants and the yield per plant and per unit area were larger. Of the three planting densities tested, intermediate density proved to be a good balance between production quality and yield. Yield was influenced by the size of the plants and that of the planted cloves. Finally, light intensity only had a moderate impact on performance.

Overall, green garlic cultivation under controlled conditions has yielded good results. Garlic responds well to LED lighting and the hydroponic system. Green garlic is an interesting crop for closed environment production systems because their cycles are short, high-density production can be achieved with little light, and harvesting is simple.

Partners

Share this project :

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Other Projects

2017

The urban environment is subject to challenges that will only intensify in response to global warming. Our ability to manage runoff is reaching its limit,...

2015-2018

Project overview: STEELfab790 has designed and developed a system configured for closed environment production. The GiGrow machine is a rotating production system developed for indoor...

2018-2019

The production of seaside plants is an avenue that Reford Gardens wishes to develop for their high gastronomic and environmental potential. The first phase of...

Projets

Développement d’une régie de culture de l’aillet en environnement contrôlé avec éclairage DEL dans un système de culture verticale hydroponique

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Année

2018-2019

Financement

25 000 $ CRSNG

Partenaires de développement

August’s Harvest

Responsable du projet / Contact chez Biopterre
Description

Les entreprises agricoles font de plus en plus appel à la culture en environnement contrôlé pour élargir la gamme des produits disponibles et répondre aux consommateurs qui souhaitent avoir accès à une plus grande variété et disponibilité de produits frais cultivés localement, et ce, tout au long de l’année. Ce projet portait sur la production de l’aillet, c’est-à-dire de l’ail récolté avant sa pleine maturité, en environnement contrôlé. Il visait l’optimisation de la culture pour favoriser le développement d’un feuillage abondant, aromatique et non fibreux. Les travaux ont porté sur la fertilisation, l’intensité lumineuse, la densité des plantes et la taille des caïeux plantés.

 

Une fertilisation balancée comprenant des microéléments a engendré un bon développement racinaire, des plantes plus grandes ainsi qu’un meilleur rendement par plant et par unité de surface que le traitement témoin. Parmi les trois densités de plantation comparées, la densité intermédiaire s’est avérée un bon équilibre entre la qualité de la production et le rendement. Celui-ci était influencé tant par la taille des plantes que par la grosseur des caïeux plantés. Finalement, l’intensité de la lumière a eu un impact modéré sur le rendement.

 

Globalement, la culture d’aillet en conditions contrôlées a donné de bons résultats. La plante a bien répondu à l’éclairage DEL et au système hydroponique. La culture d’aillets pourrait être très intéressante pour la production en milieu fermé car les cycles de culture sont courts, la production peut se faire à haute densité avec peu de lumière et la récolte est simple.

 

Partenaires

Partager ce projet :

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Autres projets

2017

Le milieu urbain est soumis à des problématiques appelées à prendre de l’ampleur avec le réchauffement climatique. On arrive à une limite de la capacité...

2015-2018

Le concept de culture maraîchère en milieu fermé est un mode de culture émergent qui suscite un grand intérêt actuellement. Ce mode de culture innovant...

2018-2019

Compte tenu de son potentiel gastronomique et environnemental, la production de plantes de bord de mer est une avenue que souhaite développer l’entreprise les Jardins...